CRAF is an Expert Committee hosted by the European Science Foundation (ESF). It represents the interests of research institutes and observatories, which are active in Radio Astronomy. Its Member Institutes (MI) are based in Europe and South Africa, or are international organizations themselves. Each MI commits to the work of CRAF by funding its budget and/or providing substantial in-kind contributions by providing work force via their CRAF Delegates.

European Science Foundation (ESF) liaison officer: N. Walter

CRAF Frequency Manager: W. Madkour – Joint Institute for VLBI ERIC (JIVE) – The Netherlands

CRAF Member Institutes and their CRAF Delegates:

Austrian Academy of Sciences – Austria – Vacant

Belgian Science Policy Office (BELSPO) – Belgium – C. Marqué (Observatoire Royal de Belgique)

Astronomical Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences – Czech Rep. – K. Jiricka

Academy of Finland – Finland – Derek McKay

CNRS-INSU (Nançay Radioastronomy Facility & Paris Observatory) – France – I. Thomas

Max-Planck Institut für Radioastronomie (MPIfR) – Germany – B. Winkel (CRAF Chair), G. Jozsa

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Department of Physics – Greece – Vacant

Hungarian Academy of Sciences- Hungary – L. V. Tóth

School of Physics, Trinity College, University of Dublin – Ireland – P. J. McCauley (CRAF Secretary)

Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica (INAF) – Italy – P. Bolli (CRAF Vice Chair / Treasurer), F. Giovanardi, V. Tornatore (Politecnico di Milano)

Ventspils International Radio Astronomy Center (VIRAC) – Latvia – V. Bezrukovs

Netherlands Foundation of Scientific Research Institutes (NWO) / Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy (ASTRON) – The Netherlands – R. Witvers

Kartverket Geodetisk Observatorie, Ny-Ålesund – Norway – L. Morten Tangen

Astronomical Observatory, Jagiellonian University – Poland – M. Soida

Instituto de Telecomunicações (Polo de Aveiro) – GRIT – Portugal – M. Bergano

South African Radio Astronomy Observatory (SARAO) – South Africa – B. Sethole, A. Tiplady

Instituto Geográfico Nacional (IGN), Subdirección General de Astronomia – Spain – M. Bautista, J. A. Lopez-Perez

Onsala Space Observatory, Chalmers – Sweden – M. Lindqvist

Swiss Commission for Astronomy (SCFA) of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) – Switzerland – A. Murk, S. Wampfler

Department of Astronomy and Space Sciences, Erciyes University – Turkey – I. Kücük

Institute of Radio Astronomy of National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine – Ukraine – S. Yerin

Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), represented by Manchester University & Cambridge University – United Kingdom – P. Thomasson

Institut de Radio Astronomie Millimétrique (IRAM) – International – V. Piétu (France)

International VLBI Service for Geodesy and Astrometry (IVS) – International – H. Hase (Germany)

CRAF Observers:

Square Kilometre Array Observatory (SKAO) – International – F. Di Vruno (UK), H. Qiu (UK), B. Sorokin (UK)

European Southern Observatory (ESO) – International – A. Williams (Germany)

European Space Agency (ESA) – International – Katharina Andersen (Germany)

CRAF is very grateful to all Member Institutes for their in-kind contributions. In addition, the following MIs pay into the CRAF Budget:

Full share (100%):

  • ASTRON (The Netherlands)
  • Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France)
  • Onsala Space Observatory (Sweden)
  • Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica (Italy)
  • Max-Planck Institute for Radioastronomy (Germany)
  • Science and Technology Facilities Council (UK)
  • Kartverket Geodetisk Observatorie (Norway)

Reduced share (15%):

  • Hartebeesthoeok Radio Astronomy (South Africa)

Reduced share (10%):

  • Comm. for Astronomy of Swiss Academy of Sciences (Switzerland)
  • Belgian Science Policy Office, BELSPO (Belgium)
  • Suomen Akatemia/Finlands Akademi (Finland)

Committee on Radio Astronomy Frequencies